A major key consists of the tones of a major triad based on the root note and a minor triad based on the tone one step higher. Added to this is the tone which is one full step above the highest note of the minor chord. As in the early modern ionic mode, the semitone steps are between the 3rd and 4th as well as the 7th and 8th tone. Major is by far the most commonly used in today's music.


C major, F major, G major

Bold: root note, unterlined: half step

    • [CEG] = C major
    • [DFA] = D minor
    • [FAC] = F major
    • [GBbD] = G minor
    • [GBD] = G major
    • [ACE] = A minor