The fourth cadence is a chord progression in which the chords to a melody are separated from each other by one fourth. Thus, it leads in eight stages over all notes in a scale and is therefore also called diatonic fourth cadence. It is especially popular in Jazz music, but it also occurs in Classical music. In addition, it is suitable for practicing the circle of fourths. Some progressions only use a back fragment of the cadence. Often, dominant seventh chords are used because they facilitate modulation.

Basic form



  • C major: Cmaj7 – Fmaj7 – Bm7 – Em7 – Am7 – Dm7 - G7 - Cmaj7
  • A minor: Am – Dm7 – G7 – Cmaj7 – F – Bmdim – E7 – Am

Jazz progression


Jazz progression

This progression is the back fragment of a fourth cadence. It is often used for playing Jazz music.

  • ii7–V7–Imaj7
  • C major: Dm7–G7–Cmaj7
  • F major: Gm7–C7–Fmaj7
  • G major: Bm7–D7–Gmaj7

Rhythm Changes-Progression

x625 3625

Rhythm Changes Progression

This progression is inspired by the standard „I Got Rhythm“ (1930) by George Gershwin. It is created in AABA form. The harmony of the A part follows an x-vi-ii-V progression (x625), the B part consists of the fourth cadence iii7-vi7-ii7-V7 progression (3625).

  • C major: Cmaj7–Fm7–Dm7–G7 Em7–F7–Dm7–G7
  • F major: F-D7-G7-C7 A7-D7-G7-C7



Glen Rose: Jazzy Ukulele Lesson 1 (2009)

UkesterBrown: I Got Rhythm (with intro) (2011)

Yosuke Miyajima: I Got Rhythm (instrumental) (2014)